Sewing

Sewing – Ginger Jeans

I had originally picked out a different pattern for my first pair ever of made my own jeans; however, after reading Sew Anemone’s blog post on her first pair of Ginger Jeans by Closet Case Patterns and learning that the pattern had very helpful hints on fitting jeans I changed my mind and used this pattern instead. Good decision!!! The pattern is very easy to follow for the most part and I have a very wearable first ever pair of made my own jeans! I shortened them into capris – it is summer time and I really needed a new pair. Seriously the day I started cutting them, I blew a hole in the thigh of my favorite pair!

I made several errors even with the fantastic directions… user error for the most part.

Cheap is cheap is cheap!!!

The first major mistake? Buying cheap stretch denim…  Yes, this was my trial pair. Yes, anything could have happened.  But wow cheap is cheap and the quality fits the price tag. Way to stretchy and unable to hold shape. They fit fine when I dress but by the time I am finished my first cup of coffee they are more than slightly baggy. By the third they are sliding down my hips….

The importance of BASTING!!!

The jean making experience was pretty basic as far as the cutting went (still cheering on the pattern weights!!) The pattern, specifically, says to baste them together to check the fit – which was EXTREMELY valuable!! This process allowed me to see that I needed to bring in the side seams. They required a full inch adjustment on each side and I needed to bring in the yoke as well.

I made notes for the adjustments that were required (for me that means right on the pattern at that step so I won’t forget!) and then the seam ripping and real sewing began!

Stitching, Ripping, Repeat!

*Sigh* Meet my new best friend. We got very close on this project!!

20170827_110225

My top stitching almost immediately started causing a problem:

20170709_152126

One conversation with my sewing buddy and problem solved– turns out the suggestion was in the pattern and I ignored it (0ops). The solution? Simple. Replace the top stitch thread in the bobbin with regular thread!  I managed to complete not only this project but a couple more (posts to come) without another problem… whew!

Not the neatest job I have ever done but no knots!!!

20170710_194553.jpg

Next up – the very scary pockets and fly. I wound up tearing out the front pockets a few times as I tried to wrap my head around what was supposed to be going on….  I think this was a user problem as the instructions seem clear enough now. The fly went not too bad….  okay, okay, honesty – I spent some extra time with my seam ripper here too! Good instructions but sadly preconceived ideas of my own. I should have followed the instructions a little more closely!

I would like to say that I managed to move on without any issues, unfortunately, I was very, very careful with stitching on that first back pocket… not so much the second one… *sigh*

20170715_133426

Over all this pattern experience was good. The sewing experience was at times trying- learning patience during a sewing project is tricky! I found the pattern gave excellent instructions, especially for someone who has never sewn a pair of jeans before (ME!!). I particularly liked the sew-a-longs available online. Her discussion on pocket placement was informative and very useful.

I will be making another pair of Ginger Jeans again!

Things To Do Differently

BUY BETTER DENIM!!!

                BUY BETTER DENIM!!!

                BUY BETTER DENIM!!!

Choose a smaller size – just one size down though. I think at least part of the problem was the very cheap material. The pattern includes fantastic instructions on fitting them after basting them so I am prepared to do this again with better material.

Slow down and read the instructions carefully – I need to remember that I do not always have to do things my own way. The instructions are there for a reason – to help!!

#Isewmyownclothes

#sewing

#closetcasepatterns

#gingerjeans

#ilovemyseamripper

 

Leave a comment